1. Skip to content

Host of athletics successes for ICON recipients

Posted: Fri, 19 May 2017 12:05

Host of athletics successes for ICON recipients

It's been a superb week of athletics achievements for Derbyshire athletes on the ICON bursary programme.

Three athletes – Niamh Emerson (Shirland, high jump), Alicia Barrett (Chesterfield, sprint hurdles) and Alex Knibbs (Duffield, 400m relay) have been called up for the GB Junior Squad for the Loughborough International.

Debutante Coope (100m) and Jessica Turner, from Denby (400m hurdles), are also set to compete, the latter for Loughborough Students.

The prestigious event will be held at the Paula Radcliffe Athletics Stadium, Loughborough, on Sunday (May 21).

Tickets for the event, which sees the British Athletics team take on teams from England, Scotland, Wales, British Universities and Loughborough Students, can be purchased online here: http://loughboroughsport.com/lia2017

At the Derbyshire County Championships, there were a raft of successes for ICON recipients, including Katie Rowe, from Alfreton, who took Under-20s gold in the triple jump with a leap of 11.28m.

Kilburn's Emily Coope set a new personal best in winning the 200m and also triumphed in the 100m, while Knibbs won the 40m hurdles, Caitlin Emerson the discus and sister Niamh the long jump in a new championship record of 5.69m

Lily Naylor, from Ripley, won high jump, triple jump and shot gold as well as long jump silver in the under-17 category,

Meanwhile, Ed Barbour, of Little Eaton, claimed first place in the Merseyside Under-20s triple jump, with 13.12m.

Away from athletics, Lucy Atkins took badminton gold at the Lancashire Under-14s Open.

Skier Ella Taylor-Tipton, from West Hallam, has applied to win a place at Momentum Camps on the Sarah Burke Foundation Week, submitting this video: https://youtu.be/X-hkCOEhg34

Host of athletics successes for ICON recipients

Tags: Alex Knibbs, Alicia Barrett, Caitlin Emerson, Compete, Derbyshire Sport, Ed Barbour, Ella Taylor-Tipton, Emily Coope, ICON, Lily Naylor, Lucy Atkins, Niamh Emerson